Photo: Justin Knight
Photo: Justin Knight

Loureiro wins a 2022 School of Engineering Award

The MIT School of Engineering recently honored outstanding faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students with its 2022 awards.

The MIT School of Engineering recently announced its 2022 awards, honoring outstanding faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students.

The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching, given to a faculty member whose contributions have been characterized by dedication, care, and creativity, was presented to Michael Short, Class of ’42 Associate Professor in Nuclear Science and Engineering.

The Junior Bose Award, for an outstanding contributor to education from among the junior faculty of the School of Engineering, went to Irmgard Bischofberger, the Class of 1942 Career Development Professor in Mechanical Engineering.

Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Teaching are awarded annually to one faculty member in each of three departments — Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Mechanical Engineering, and Nuclear Science and Engineering — to acknowledge “the tradition of high-quality engineering education at MIT.” A fourth award rotates among the School of Engineering’s five other academic departments. This year’s recipients were:

  • George Barbastathis, Singapore Research Professor of Optics and professor of mechanical engineering
  • Phillip Isola, Bonnie and Marty (1964) Tenenbaum Career Development Assistant Professor
  • Nuno Loureiro, professor of nuclear science and engineering and professor of physics
  • Kevin O’Brien, Emanuel E. Landsman (1958) Career Development Professor and assistant professor

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to technological advances in the United States, was awarded to engineering students Zoë Marschner and Charlotte Wickert

The Henry Ford II Award, presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society, was presented to Sreya Vangara ’22, who double majored in mechanical engineering and electrical engineering and computer science.

The Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising, awarded to a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to the personal and professional development of others, was presented to Colette Heald, The Germeshausen Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

The Graduate Student Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring Award, given to a graduate student in the School of Engineering who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching or research assistant, was presented to Keegan Mendez

The newly launched School of Engineering Distinguished Educator Award recognizing outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate education by members of its faculty and teaching staff (lecturer or instructor), was awarded to Barbara Hughey.