The 20th Annual Pappalardo Fellowships in Physics Symposium

Thursday, March 16, 2023

SYMPOSIUM: 2:00 – 5:00pm EDT
LOCATION: MIT Samberg Conference Center, Building E52, 7th Floor (Salon M)
1:30 PM Pre-Symposium Reception (MIT Samberg Conference Center, Building E52, East Salon)

Introductory Remarks: To Be Announced
  • Aviram Uri, 2021-2024 Pappalardo Fellow
    Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
    Title and abstract: Forthcoming
  • Anna-Christina Eilers, 2022-2024 Pappalardo Fellow in Physics, 2019-2022 NASA Hubble Fellow
    Title and abstract: Forthcoming
  • Benjamin Lehmann, 2022-2025 Pappalardo Fellow
    Theoretical Nuclear and Particle Physics
    Title and abstract: Forthcoming
  • Rohan Naidu, NASA Hubble Fellow: 2022-2025; 2025-2027 Pappalardo Fellow
    Astrophysics Instrumentation, Observation, and Experiment
    Title and abstract: Forthcoming
  • Joshua Foster, 2021-2024 Pappalardo Fellow
    Theoretical Nuclear and Particle Physics; Theoretical Astrophysics; Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics
    Title and abstract: Forthcoming

Other Pappalardo links:

Past Symposia

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Or Hen
Class of 1956 Career Development Associate Professor of Physics
2015-2017 Pappalardo Fellow

“Neutron Star Droplets and the Quarks Within”

Since the discovery of quarks nuclear physicists have been trying to understand the relation between the lower-resolution description of nuclei using protons and neutrons, and their underlying higher-resolution description in terms of quarks and gluons.

At the intersection of these two paradigms are Short-Range Correlations (SRC): pairs of strongly interacting nucleons whose distance is comparable to their radii.

Due to their overlapping quark distributions and strong interaction, SRC pairs reach local densities comparable to those existing in the outer core of neutron stars and serve as a bridge between low-energy nuclear structure, high-density nuclear matter and high-energy quark distributions.

In this talk, I will present results from high-energy electron scattering experiments that probe the structure and properties of SRCs across scales: from their effect on the behavior of protons in neutron-rich nuclear systems through their role in our understanding of strong interactions at short distances, and the impact of nuclear interactions on internal quark-gluon sub-structure of nuclei. 

Looking to the future I will also discuss next generation studies at the forthcoming Electron-Ion Collider under construction at Brookhaven National Lab.

Webcast recording:

  • April 4, 2021
    Katelin Schutz, 2019-2020 Pappalardo Fellow; 2020 NASA Einstein Fellow
    (Nuclear and Particle Theory)
    “Making Dark Matter Out of Light”
    Introductory remarks: Tracy Slatyer, Jerrold R. Zacharias Career Development Associate Professor of Physics
  • April 28, 2021
    Anna-Christina Eilers, 2019-2022 NASA Hubble Fellow; 2022-2024 Pappalardo Fellow
    “The Formation and Growth of Supermassive Black Holes”
    Introductory remarks: Robert Simcoe, Francis L. Friedman Professor of Physics; Director, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research
  • May 5, 2021
    Rachel Carr, 2016-2018, 2020-2021 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics)
    Chasing Anomalies with Reactor Neutrinos”
    Introductory remarks: Janet Conrad, Professor of Physics
  • May 12, 2021
    Nicholas Kern, 2020-2023 Pappalardo Fellow
    “Ushering in a New Era for High Redshift Astrophysics and Cosmology with the 21 cm Line”
    Introductory remarks: Jacqueline Hewitt, Julius A. Stratton Professor in Electrical Engineering and Physics
  • May 19, 2021
    Hoi Chun “Adrian” Po, 2018-2021 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics)
    “Topology at the Corner of the Table”
    Introductory remarks: Liang Fu, Lawrence C. (1944) and Sarah W. Biedenharn Career Development Associate Professor of Physics
  • Prof. Jeff Gore, Latham Family Career Development Assistant Professor of Physics
    Introductory Remarks
  • Dr. Taritree Wongjirad, 2014–17 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics)
    “Searching for Neutrino-less Double Beta Decay Using Quantum Dot Nanoparticles”
  • Dr. Inti Sodemann, 2014–17 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Hard Condensed Matter Theory)
    “The Nature of Spin Superfluidity and its Potential Uses”
  • Dr. Meng Su,  2012–15 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Theoretical Astrophysics)
    “From Space to the Tibet Plateau: Probing the Mystery of the Universe in Gamma Ray and Microwave”
  • Dr. Benjamin Safdi, 2014–17 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Theoretical High Energy Physics)
    “Directional Antineutrino Detection”
  • Dr. Yoav Lahini,  2012–15 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Soft Condensed Matter & Biophysics)
    Towards Optical Measurements of Virus Self-Assembly: How Does a Virus Grow?
  • Prof. Peter Fisher, Head, Department of Physics
    Introductory Remarks
  • Dr. Robert Penna, 2013–16 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Theoretical Astrophysics)
    “Spinning Black Holes”
  • Dr. Jeongwan Haah, 2013–16 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Quantum Information Theory)
    “Protecting Quantum Information”
  • Dr. Inna Vishik,  2013–16 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Condensed Matter)
    “Adventures in Unconventional Superconductivity”
  • Dr. Guy Bunin, 2013–16 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Biophysics & Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics)
    “From Symmetries to Probabilities”
  • Dr. Joshua Spitz,  2011–14 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics)
    “Testing Einstein with Neutrinos”
  • Prof. Marin Soljačić, 2008 MacArthur Fellow; 2000-03 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Condensed Matter Theory)
    Introductory Remarks
  • Dr. David Hsieh, 2009–12 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Condensed Matter Experiment)
    “A New Generation of Insulators for the Electronics Future”
  • Dr. Paul Chesler, 2009–12 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Nuclear & Particle Theory)
    “Applied String Theory: from Gravitational Collapse to Heavy Ion Collisions”
  • Dr. Paola Rebusco, 2007–10 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Theoretical Astrophysics)
    “Astronomers-to-be at MIT”
  • Dr. Yusuke Nishida, 2008–11 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Nuclear & Particle Theory)
    “Universal Physics with Ultracold Atoms”
  • Dr. Jeff Gore, 2007–10 Pappalardo Fellow
    “Is Evolution Reversible?”
  • Prof. Ed Bertschinger, Professor of Physics and Former Head, Department of Physics
    Introductory Remarks
  • Dr. David Tong, 2001-2004 Pappalardo Fellow
    (String Theory)
    “Is String Theory Right or is It Just Useful?”
  • Dr. Robert Simcoe, 2003-2006 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Experimental Astrophysics)
    “Playing with FIRE: The Edge of the Universe as seen from Magellan”
  • Dr. Jocelyn Monroe, 2006-2009 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Dark Matter and Neutrino Physics)
    “Particle Physics at the Dark Frontier”
  • Dr. Michael Fogler, 2000-2003 Pappalardo Fellow
    (Condensed Matter Theory)
    “Graphene Twist and Rock-n-Roll”
  • Dr. Henriette Elvang, 2005-2008 Pappalardo Fellow
    (String Theory)
    “Recent Advances in Amplitude Calculations and Their Applications”